Welcome!

What is the 2030 Agenda, exactly? Why do I need to know about it and what does all this mean for me and my project?

GIZ’s Sectoral Department has created this platform to answer these and other questions. Whether you think of the 2030 Agenda as yet another set of onerous requirements, or whether you expect it to enhance the quality of sustainable advisory services, we want to help you put GIZ’s understanding of the 2030 Agenda and its principles to practical use when planning and implementing your projects and providing advice.

The adoption of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development in September 2015 fundamentally changed the framework for international development cooperation. The adjacent quotes illustrate the great expectations placed in the 2030 Agenda.

GIZ’s work will also change in response to the principles and transformative character of the 2030 Agenda. For us as employees or consultants/appraisers of a company dedicated to sustainable development, the 2030 Agenda acts as a set of key principles that guide our work. Our aim is to integrate the vision of the 2030 Agenda into the design of our projects.

This practitioner’s guide has been designed by planning officers from all fields of expertise in the Sectoral Department and can be used across all of the company’s departments. As well as general information on the 2030 Agenda, they provide key information on project design.

The 2030 Agenda calls on us to think beyond borders and sectors in order to sustainably protect the common good both now and in the future. What does a forestry project have to do with migration and education? This principle of ‘integrated approaches’ and other principles are described in detail and illustrated by practical examples in the ‘Principles’ section. Owing to GIZ’s sectoral orientation and the existing priority areas at portfolio level, these working aids also contain sector- and division-specific information under the heading 'Our Topics' (Governance and Conflict; Economy, Employment and Social Development; and Climate change, Rural Development and Infrastructure). These facilitate the guidance and present the relevance for the work by means of practical examples.

GIZ consultants/appraisers also have access to these working aids. Consultants/appraisers should contact their responsible planning officer with regard to inaccessible internal links to GIZ’s document management system (DMS).

To wind up, a word of thanks: this practitioner’s guide (version 06.2021) was sparked by the innovative idea of planning officers in the Governance and Conflict Division, which had already published an internal working aid on the 2030 Agenda in 2016 that was drawn up by planning officers for planning officers in that division. Thank you for your extensive groundwork and for piloting your idea! We have worked across divisions to update and expand on the original working aid and provide it to you in its new form.

Have fun clicking your way through it and implementing the 2030 Agenda in your projects!

The GIZ-guide for implementing the 2030 Agenda and its principles in our project reality will be available in English.

We appreciate your understanding for a delay due to official translation.

agenda-2030

'This is a historic achievement. [...] This transformative agenda will open a new chapter in development history.'

-- H.E. Mr. Sam K. Kutesa, President of the United Nations General Assembly, 3 August 2015

‘We want to give the world a more humane face. And we can. That is what the 2030 Agenda is for. To this end, we are adopting new goals which cover the entire spectrum of global development and which apply to all, industrial and developing countries alike. If we are to achieve these goals, we need a new global partnership.'

-- Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany Angela Merkel at the inauguration of the United Nations Sustainable Development Summit on 25 September 2015

'We must not lose sight of the 2030 Agenda and the Paris Climate Agreement. These must guide our actions in all policy fields.’

-- Federal Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development Dr Gerd Müller in his first speech as a member of the new German Government on 18 March 2018

‘The Council calls on the Commission to set out by mid-2018 an implementation strategy with timelines, objectives and concrete measures to implement the 2030 Agenda in all EU policies.’

-- The Council of the European Union, press release, 20 June 2017

...and here are the Top links to the 2030 Agenda

Herzlich Willkommen!

Was ist eigentlich Agenda 2030? Warum muss ich mich mit ihr beschäftigen und was bedeutet das alles für mich und mein Projekt?

Diese und weitere Fragen möchte der GIZ Fach- und Methodenbereich mit dieser Plattform beantworten. Ob nun Agenda 2030 bei Ihnen Assoziationen von lästigen Zusatzanforderungen oder von besserer Qualität für nachhaltige Beratung weckt, wir wollen Sie dabei unterstützen, das GIZ-Verständnis zu Agenda 2030 und ihrer Prinzipien in Ihrer Projektplanung, -umsetzung und –beratung sinnvoll anzuwenden.

Die Verabschiedung der Agenda 2030 für nachhaltige Entwicklung im September 2015 hat den Rahmen der internationalen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit umfassend verändert. Die nebenstehenden Zitate verdeutlichen die großen Erwartungen, die an die Agenda 2030 gestellt werden.

Um den Prinzipien und dem transformativen Charakter der Agenda 2030 gerecht zu werden, ändert sich auch die Arbeit der GIZ.  Als Mitarbeiter/innen oder Gutachter/innen eines Unternehmens für nachhaltige Entwicklung dient die Agenda 2030 als Leitbild unserer Arbeit. Wir haben den Anspruch, die Vision der Agenda 2030 in die Konzeption von Vorhaben zu integrieren.

Diese Arbeitshilfe ist von Fachplaner/innen aller Fachlichkeiten des Fach- und Methodenbereichs konzipiert und über Bereichsgrenzen hinweg anwendbar. Neben Informationen zur Agenda 2030 allgemein finden sich wichtige Informationen zum Projektdesign.

Die Agenda 2030 fordert ein Denken über Grenzen und Sektoren hinweg, um nachhaltig unser aller Gemeinwohl jetzt und in der Zukunft zu schützen. Was hat ein Forstprojekt mit Migration und Bildung zu tun? Dieses Prinzip der "integrierten Ansätze" sowie andere Grundsätze sind im Kapitel "Prinzipien" detailliert beschrieben und mit Praxisbeispielen illustriert. Aufgrund der sektoralen Ausrichtung der GIZ und bestehender Schwerpunkte auf Portfolio-Ebene beinhaltet diese Arbeitshilfe auch weiterhin sektor- und abteilungsspezifische Informationen unter „Unsere Themen“ (Governance und Konflikt; Wirtschaft, Beschäftigung und soziale Entwicklung; und Klima, Ländliche Entwicklung und Infrastruktur). Diese erleichtern Ihnen die Orientierung und stellen die Relevanz für ihre Arbeit eingängig an Praxisbeispielen dar.

GIZ-Gutachter/innen haben Zugang zu dieser Arbeitshilfe. Bei unzugänglichen internen Links ins GIZ-interne Datenmanagementsystem (DMS) wenden sich diese bitte an ihre/n Fachplaner/in.

Am Schluss ein Dank: Diese Arbeitshilfe (Version 06.2021) begann mit der innovativen Idee der Fachplaner/innen der Abteilung „Governance und Konflikt“, die schon 2016 eine abteilungsinterne Arbeitshilfe zur Agenda 2030 von Fachplaner/innen für Fachplaner/innen herausgebracht haben. Wir danken ihnen für ihre umfassende Vorarbeit und die Pilotierung ihrer Idee. Diese haben wir gemeinsam abteilungsübergreifend weiterentwickelt um Sie Ihnen hier zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Viel Spaß beim Durchklicken und bei der Umsetzung der Agenda 2030 in unseren Vorhaben!

 

Achtung: Diese Seite wird gerade aktualisiert. Es kann daher zu kurzfristigen Änderungen oder Fehlermeldungen kommen. Vielen Dank für Ihr Verständnis. (Juni 2021)

agenda-2030

“This is a historic achievement. [...] This transformative agenda will open a new chapter in development history.”

-- H.E. Mr. Sam K. Kutesa, President of the United Nationals General Assembly, 3 August 2015

„Wir wollen und wir können der Welt ein menschlicheres Gesicht geben. Diesem Ziel dient die Agenda 2030. Wir nehmen uns dafür neue Ziele vor, die das gesamte Spektrum der globalen Entwicklung umfassen und die für alle gelten – für Industrieländer ebenso wie für Entwicklungsländer. Um sie zu erreichen, brauchen wir eine neue globale Partnerschaft.“

-- Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel bei der Eröffnung des UN-Gipfels zur Verabschiedung der Agenda 2030 für nachhaltige Entwicklung am 25. September 2015

“Die Agenda 2030 und der Pariser Klimavertrag dürfen nicht in Vergessenheit geraten. Sie müssen Richtschnur unseres Handels in allen Politikbereichen sein.”

-- Bundesminister für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung, Dr. Gerd Müller in seiner Regierungsantrittsrede am 18. März 2018

“Der Rat fordert die Kommission auf, bis Mitte 2018 in einer Umsetzungsstrategie […] konkrete Maßnahmen zur Umsetzung der Agenda2030 in allen Politikbereichen vorzulegen.”

-- Rat der Europäischen Union, Pressemitteilung vom 20.06.2017

… und hier die TOP Links zur Agenda 2030: